Carlos Alcaraz and Jannik Sinner praised for 'sportsmanship on both sides' in two crucial moments during incredible French Open final at Roland-Garros
Updated 08/06/2025 at 18:37 GMT+1
Carlos Alcaraz displayed more incredible sportsmanship in his final against Jannik Sinner at the French Open, calling one of his opponent’s serves in despite the moment proving personally costly. It is not the first example of the Spaniard playing the game the right way, with an earlier rally in the tournament already leading to plenty of plaudits for the world No. 2. Sinner later followed suit.
Watch classy sportsmanship from Alcaraz at crucial moment in final with Sinner
Video credit: TNT Sports
Carlos Alcaraz is known for his dashing play, his joy on the court and his growing list of achievements in the game.
But one thing that has become apparent at this year’s French Open is that the world No. 2 can be relied upon to show great sportsmanship.
Earlier in the tournament, when playing against Ben Shelton, Alcaraz seemingly pulled off a miracle volley as he threw himself wide to connect with the ball.
However, before he had even risen from the dirt, he gestured to the umpire that he had dropped his racquet. That lost him the point, but gained him plenty of admirers.
And the Spaniard did something similar in Sunday's final against Jannik Sinner at Roland-Garros.
He could be forgiven for not feeling very generous, given Sinner had just taken a lengthy and tight first set 6-4, with Alcaraz’s final shot hitting the top of the tape and bouncing wide to hand the set to his rival.
/origin-imgresizer.tntsports.io/2025/06/01/image-67238b6e-29f4-4a7d-b900-74172a98da09-85-2560-1440.jpeg)
Watch amazing sportsmanship from Alcaraz as he concedes point after freak winner
Video credit: TNT Sports
Sinner was serving first in the second set and at deuce, Alcaraz was poised to pounce and wrestle back some momentum.
The Italian had an unreturnable serve called out, and with no hawk eye here, it did not appear the umpire was going to intervene. But Alcaraz did so himself, walking forward to check the mark and confirming it was actually an ace.
That gave Sinner game point, and the Italian did eventually convert to take a lead in the second set.
- Gauff quotes Tyler, The Creator in French Open title reaction while beaten Sabalenka 'sorry for terrible final'
- Djokovic on ‘emotional’ French Open exit - ‘This could have been the last match ever I played here’
"He’s going to call that one good and that is an ace - good sportsmanship has been nothing but on display from Carlos," Jim Courier said on commentary on TNT Sports and discovery+.
"Did you see him hit the volley where the racquet came out of his hand and he made the volley?
"The chair umpire hadn’t seen it and the opponent didn’t really know it, and Carlos said no."
"He plays the sport in the right spirit," added co-commentator Nick Mullins.
There was a further display of superb sportsmanship - this time from Sinner.
/origin-imgresizer.tntsports.io/2025/06/08/image-5bfc7cfc-39fe-4d77-9980-284ee636014c-85-2560-1440.jpeg)
Watch 'great sportsmanship' as Sinner overrules line call in favour of Alcaraz in final drama
Video credit: TNT Sports
Deep in the fourth set, and reeling from seeing three Championship points come and go, Sinner was about to return a thumping Alcaraz forehand on the baseline when the call came.
The chair umpire, Eva Asderaki, was halfway to the baseline when Sinner gestured to her that it was in - and so to replay the point.
"Sinner overrules that… great sportsmanship on both sides of the net throughout this contest," Courier added.
Related Topics
Thoughts?