Wuhan Open 2025: Ding Junhui fortunate as illegal showboating goes unpunished to leave home crowd purring in win over Zhang Hao
Published 24/08/2025 at 14:27 GMT+1
Ding Junhui delighted the Wuhan Open crowd when he put on a fine show of eccentricity to clear the table and storm into a 4-1 lead in his qualifier against Zhang Hao - but should it have been ruled a foul? Regardless, any sanction would likely not have stopped the world No. 7 from taking victory in emphatic style, and he enters the main draw with a first-round clash against Stan Moody on Monday.
Ding wows crowd with showboat black - but was it a foul?
Video credit: TNT Sports
Ding Junhui was at his ball-striking best to dispatch Zhang Hao 5-1 and secure his place in the main draw of the Wuhan Open.
The world No. 7 rattled home two half-centuries en route to a 3-1 lead, and in the fifth frame, showcased the kind of break-building ability which has helped him to 15 ranking titles to power home his first century.
But did Ding perhaps get a little too eager to please his home crowd?
The 38-year-old made light work of his first ton of the match, making the 4-1 lead certain. But he was eager to put on a show and clear the table, accruing a run of 113 before smashing home the pink for 119.
Appearing impatient to put his clearance to bed, Ding left spectators in raptures as he polished off the final black.
With the cue ball still moving towards a central position behind the black, Ding took it before it stopped moving, and played the angle perfectly.
/origin-imgresizer.tntsports.io/2025/08/24/image-6444d780-3ba5-41de-8125-9d04f2be82f3-85-2560-1440.jpeg)
Watch in full as Xiao sinks 147 to delight Wuhan Open crowd
Video credit: TNT Sports
He fired the cue ball off the left rail, completing his clearance with the black sinking into the opposite corner, before strolling off with a certain nonchalance while leaving those around him to marvel.
According to the World Snooker Tour's (WST) website, Ding accumulated a break of 126 - with the seven points for the final black adding to his tally.
But should it have counted? The World Professional Billiards and Snooker Association states in its handbook: "The next stroke is played from where the cue ball comes to rest or, if the cue ball is not in play, from in-hand."
Moreover, it states a player can be sanctioned with four penalty points should they strike "when any ball is not at rest".
- 'One of my favourite cities' - O'Sullivan discovers opponent for Xi'an Grand Prix
- Wuhan Open 2025: Latest scores, schedule and results as Trump, Xiao and Murphy feature
So while Ding's showboating was against the rules, the punishment would still not have altered the fact the frame had long been won by the Chinese cueman.
He went on to seal the final frame and ensure he will play in the main tournament starting Monday, with a first-round clash against 18-year-old sensation Stan Moody.
Ding will be looking to be back among the silverware this season after ending his five-year wait for ranking-title glory last season.
He beat Chris Wakelin in the International Championship final to claim his 15th major trophy, with his previous ranking title coming at the 2019 UK Championship.
Stream the snooker season live on discovery+
Related Topics
Thoughts?
Advertisement
Advertisement